You Need to Calm Down, Look What You Made Me Do

Dean Koh
2 min readJun 23, 2023

Reflections from a pseudo-Swiftie.

Meme by me, of course.

Swifties (a term used for Taylor Swift’s fans) went berserk after the famous singer-songwriter announced earlier this week on Instagram that she will have be in Singapore to perform for three nights in March 2024 as part of her Eras Tour.

Tonnes of memes related to Taylor Swift appearing in Singapore swiftly appeared (I also made some punny memes myself, how could I resist) on social media, such as those made by Yeolo and SGAG on Instagram.

I won’t say I am a big Swiftie, but I got introduced to her and her songs around 2010–2011 from a former colleague when I was working at the bicycle shop. In fact, this ex-colleague was such a big fan that he passed me at least two or three of her older albums and asked me to listen to them.

Unknowingly I started listening to Swift’s songs this week as well (Look What You Made Me Do, pun intended), ranging from her early songs like “You Belong With Me” (2008) to “Blank Space” (2014) to more recent hits like “Anti-Hero” (2022).

--

--